We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Seawomen

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529369564

Price: £16.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Shape of WaterKIRSTY LOGAN
‘Raw and beautiful’ CAROLINE LEA
‘Mesmerising and moving’ SUSANNAH WISE
‘An astonishing literary achievement’ LAURA PRICE
‘I was hooked’ NATASHA BROWN

Everyone on this island has a story. This is mine.



Esta has known nothing but Eden’s Isle her whole life. After a fire left her orphaned and badly scarred, Esta was raised by her grandmother in a deeply religious society who cut itself off from the mainland in the name of salvation. Here, fear rules: fear of damnation, fear of the outside world and fear of what lurks beneath the water – a corrupting evil the islanders call the Seawomen.

But Esta wants more than a life where touching the water risks corruption, where her every move is watched and women are controlled in every aspect of their lives. Married off, the women of the island must conceive a child within their appointed motheryear or be marked as cursed and cast into the sea as a sacrifice in an act called the Untethering.

When Esta witnesses a woman Untethered she sees a future to fear. Her fate awaits, a loveless marriage, her motheryear declared. And after a brief taste of freedom, the insular world Esta knows begins to unravel…

The Seawomen is a fiercely written and timely feminist novel, at once gothic, fantastical and truly unforgettable.

READERS ARE LOVING THE SEAWOMEN



***** ‘Read this in one day as it captured me completely. A terrific debut’
***** ‘Dystopian literary fiction at its finest’
***** ‘A beautifully wild and invigorating voyage of a book – loved it!’
***** ‘I knew I’d have to finish it as soon as possible the same day’
***** ‘An absolute must read’


MORE PRAISE FOR THE SEAWOMEN



‘An unsettling and lushly-written reimagining of witch trials. The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Shape of Water’ KIRSTY LOGAN

‘Richly atmospheric, powerful and provocative. A raw and beautiful coming of age story’ CAROLINE LEA

The Seawomen immerses you in its watery world’ SOPHIE WARD

‘Dive in and don’t look back’ ZOE GILBERT

‘I was hooked’ NATASHA BROWN

The Seawomen is a captivating and sometimes terrifying debut that will sweep you out to sea’ JEN CAMPBELL

‘Mesmerising and moving, I couldn’t put it down’ SUSANNAH WISE

‘Beautifully written, unsettling as a storm over the ocean’ LOUISE MORRISH

‘An astonishing literary achievement. Chloe Timms is an extraordinary new talent’ LAURA PRICE

‘Fiercely feminist and utterly unique’ NATASHA NGAN

‘An allegorical love story with echoes of fairytales and told with a visceral brutality’ KATE SAWYER

‘A provocative, imaginative and beautifully written work of art’ BECCA DAY

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A gripping tale of love and bravery; The Seawomen immerses you in its watery world.
Sophie Ward, author of Booker longlisted <i>Love and Thought Experiments</i>
This book sucked me under and held me in its gorgeous, terrifying embrace. It's a rare treat to read a story so gripping told in such beautiful prose. Dive in and don't look back.
Zoe Gilbert, author of <i>Folk</i>
A tale as slippery as a fish... I was never quite sure of what things were. Feminist allegory, modern folklore, or romance? Maybe The Seawomen is all of those things, and more. In any case, I was hooked.
Natasha Brown, author of <i>Assembly</i>
Richly atmospheric, powerful and provocative. A raw and beautiful coming of age story.
Caroline Lea, author of <i>The Glass Woman</i>
Fiercely feminist and utterly unique. Timms is a bold new talent. This is a story about oppression, the bonds that tie us - and the lies that break us. Suspenseful and intensely engaging, from Timms' lyrical writing to the genre-bending, unpredictable plot, you won't be able to put this one down.
Natasha Ngan, bestselling author of the <i>Girls of Paper and Fire</i> series
Hold your breath and hang on to hope. Perfect for fans of The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan and The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, The Seawomen is a captivating and sometimes terrifying debut that will sweep you out to sea.
Jen Campbell, author of The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night
I read this beautiful novel in a fever dream, its sweeping prose carrying me away like a boat out at sea. Chloe Timms has written an extraordinary tale of one woman's desire for freedom, for love. Mesmerising and moving, I couldn't put it down. I have no doubt it will feature on everyone's lists
Susannah Wise, author of This Fragile Earth
Beautifully written, unsettling as a storm over the ocean, Timms' novel reads like the darkest fable, pulling you in like the tide.
Louise Morrish, author of Operation Moonlight
An astonishing literary achievement, The Seawomen punches you in the gut, pulls you under the water and keeps you gasping for air until the very end. This is not just a story about love and survival but also about women's empowerment and the idea that no one's life is worth more than another. Chloe Timms is an extraordinary new talent.
Laura Price, author of Single Bald Female
An unsettling and lushly-written reimagining of witch trials, exploring fertility, control and how what we believe can save us - or destroy us. The Handmaid's Tale meets The Shape of Water.
Kirsty Logan, author of The Gloaming
An allegorical love story with echoes of fairytales and told with a visceral brutality. At its heart it is about whether to believe what we are told over what we feel to be true
Kate Sawyer, author of Costa shortlisted The Stranding
It isn't often that a novel grips me, unsettles me and totally blows me away with its unpredictability, but Timms manages it. A provocative, imaginative and beautifully written work of art
Becca Day, author of The Girl Beyond the Gate
The Seawomen is an evocative, atmospheric read. I was drawn into the insular community of Eden's Isle, heavy with secrets and lies. The final chapters in particular were incredibly compelling - I didn't come up for air until I'd finished the whole thing
Louise Carey, author of <i>Inscape</i>
Such a compelling read, filled with myth & desire & the sea
Katie Hale, author of <i>My Name is Monster</i>
The Seawomen is simply astonishing - a salt-smattered, genre-bending masterpiece written in the most exquisite, evocative prose. This is perfect for fans of Midsommar, The Handmaid's Tale and The Shape of Water. Dizzyingly, intoxicatingly beautiful
Lizzie Pook, author of <i>Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter</i>
The Seawomen literally took my breath away. Masterfully crafted and exquisite writing. This novel is what I call a masterpiece
Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, author of <i>Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?</i>
A powerful, enchanting novel, with prose so vivid you can taste the salt in the air on your tongue
Anna Bailey, author of <i>Tall Bones</i>
Chloe Timms is creating quite a stir in the literary world with her debut novel The Seawomen ... a hugely atmospheric book of power and control with the brilliant character of Esta at its centre. For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.
The Style Life
With splashes of The Handmaid's Tale and the isolated, quasi-religious communities in the films Midsommar and The Village, this is a book you can truly submerge yourself in; so take a deep breath and dive beneath the waves'
Cambridge Edition
Timms unmasks organised religion as a gleaming façade for misogynistic cults, and explores how easily whispered rumours can spiral into mass hysteria. Bonus points for her shockingly nasty villain, Father Jessop
SFX
If you're looking for your next Handmaid's Tale-esque fix, this is it
Belfast Telegraph
Beautifully written ... a great concept, brilliantly executed, and it is essential reading for dystopian fiction fans
Sunday Business Post
I adored this novel. I was completely hooked by Esta, Cal and the island. Transported by Chloe's incredible ability to write landscape and the body so powerfully. The prose is beautiful, each delicious sentence captures the reader and the story builds with sublime pacing and a taut plot that keeps you turning the page. If you like Sophie Mackintosh or Megan Hunter get this book. It's like Breaking the Waves meets The Essex Serpent. Chloe Timms is such a singular talent and I'll be reading everything she writes
Olivia Fitzsimons author of <i>The Quiet Whispers Never Stop</i>